Creation (a.k.a. Writing) · Writing 101

WRITING 101: Letter to an Author

rsz_writing_101

Today’s Writing 101 assignment was to write a letter, so I decided to write a letter to an author. More specifically Sir Arthur Conan Doyle.


Dear Sir Arthur Conan Doyle,

Firstly, you have one of the most pretentious names I have ever come across. Ironically the only person who beats you in that aspect is Benedict Timothy Carlton Cumberbatch (yes, I know his full name).

Secondly, what, or rather who I want to talk about is something you will probably punch me for from the great beyond, which is completely understandable. So, Sherlock Holmes. Before I start I just want to say how sorry I am that I don’t know any of your other works, I truly am. I am also sorry that you were pretty much forced into bringing Sherlock Holmes back from the dead when you had finally killed him off. Obviously I am happy he was brought back, but sad that it wasn’t a choice you personally made. But I do need to ask you a question (and *fangirl a bit).

How the ever-loving fudge did you create a character that was able to last so long and become so famous that he monopolises not only a street in London, but a seemingly large portion of crime fiction?! To have a character live on as such is incredible! I know you probably would have liked to have been remembered as more than just the author of Sherlock Holmes, but at least you were actually remembered!

I have actually put thought into why Sherlock Holmes and his stories are so famous. It obviously wasn’t due to wonderful continuity. I mean you called John Watson ‘James’ in one story for God’s sake!

I think that the reason Sherlock Holmes has lasted so long and has continued to be so famous is his pure brilliance and quirkiness. If you were to meet Sherlock at a party you wouldn’t stop thinking about him for a week. So spread his character across several stories and make him a part of some extraordinary mysteries and he will remain unforgettable.

Thank you for creating him and his stories. Not only did it spawn some amazing movies and TV shows which have kept me entertained for numerous hours, it has inspired me, and probably others too, to at least try and create characters who are half as memorable as Sherlock Holmes.

Yours truly,

Alicia

P. S. If you ever wish for me to punch Steven Moffat in the face for making Sherlock so popular again I will gladly do it for what he has done to Doctor Who in the past couple years.

*Also here is the definition of the verb fangirl, just in case the 21st century slang went over your head:

Fangirl – the reaction a fanatic has to any mention or sighting of the object of their ‘affection’. Their reactions include shortness of breath, fainting, babbling, high-pitched noises, fierce head shaking as if in the midst of a seizure, numerous blog posts, etc.

14 thoughts on “WRITING 101: Letter to an Author

  1. Never heard the word “fangirl” before. Thanks for bringing me into the 21st century! I think the freshness of different actor portrayal of Sherlock Holmes has something to do with character longevity. Robert Downey,, Jr’s portrayal definitely perked up my interest. Thanks for sharing.
    Thanks for bringing me into the 21st century!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s OK. I’ve had to explain to people what ‘fangirl’ means, and it’s always an interesting conversation. Robert Downey Jr.’s portrayal was the first one to catch my attention. From there on I was hooked on all things Sherlock.
      You’re welcome!

      Like

  2. Great letter! I didn’t even think about writing to an author. Your P.S. Made me smile and if there is a queue forming for punching Moffat over what he’s done to Doctor Who, I will gladly get in line! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I just had to read this as soon as I saw Sherlock Holmes – my fav stories! Great letter! Sherlock lives on cuz he’s got some mega-character, that fella! “Quirkiness”, true dat!

    Liked by 1 person

Let's chat!

