Writing 101

WRITING 101: Expanding a Comment

rsz_writing_101

For today’s Writing 101 assignment you need to expand on a comment you have written. Well, while I know that it really should be a comment left on someone else’s blog, I replied to a comment on my own blog yesterday (I think) and as soon as I saw today’s prompt I new I had to use it. While everyone goes down the serious route, I decide to go with fantasy books, sci-fi characters, and fanfiction… Typical.

Warning: I am showing you all the level of nerdiness my brain can achieve today. If you don’t want to witness this, go back now.


I’m going to add a little bit of information before I share and explain what my comment was. I am a massive Harry Potter fan. I’m the sort of fan who owns a Ravenclaw scarf, who covets the Harry Potter colouring book that’s coming out soon, and who spends hours on Etsy looking at Harry Potter wands, and trunks, and mugs, and rings, and t-shirts, and temporary tattoos. Basically, I am a complete and utter nerd.

I also read the book The Martian by Andy Weir last month, and, when doing a book tag post where I named the protagonist in The Martian, Mark Watney, as the person I’d choose to be my sidekick, my mind immediately link Harry Potter and Mark Watney together.

Here’s the comment I replied with:

Thank you! I just imagined Mark Watney as a side character in Harry Potter and I think the books wouldโ€™ve been ten time better if he was in them.

Now imagine this: Mark Watney – a hilarious guy and an amazing botanist who grew potatoes on Mars to survive – is a wizard, and is Harry Potter’s sidekick. Mark Watney would cuss out Bellatrix, joke with Voldemort,ย and join forces with Weasley twins to prank Umbridge. His sense of humour and awesome intelligence could create great Harry Potter fanfiction!

So this is me, revealing my nerdiness and secret fanfiction needs in hope that someone will find this and make it come true…

Thanks for reading my rambling. God knows how you got through it.

Here’s a question for you: if you could crossover two fictional worlds, what would they be?

9 thoughts on “WRITING 101: Expanding a Comment

    1. I actually had to tone it down because I realised that some people might not get all the references I was making. I want people to understand what I’m saying, which is an issue when I go on about Greyback and Dolohov, who even my Harry Potter loving friends don’t recognise! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. The main problem with me is that I have quite many various geeky stuff in my head and I do understand how it might be hard to follow when I throw in Battlestar reference and the beginning of sentence and dr Who and the end ๐Ÿ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

Let's chat!

