Random Rants · Writing 101

WRITING 101: Inspiration From Twitter

rsz_writing_101

Today’s Writing 101 assignment was to get inspiration from Twitter. There won’t be a short story this time, just me ranting, pretty much like every other blog post I write.


I feel like this is me in a tweet. For the past two-ish years I have been in a writing slump, only having a couple days here and there where writing became easier. So I find writing incredibly hard. If I am told to sit down and write a short story on a specific topic then sure, I can do that. But when I actually have to write for myself… Well, let’s just say that I have had a story/book idea for a year now, and I have written an eighth of the synopsis and about one thousand words of the first chapter. Basically, I am stuck.

Writing slumps aren’t something I know how to deal with. I have very little will power when it comes to sitting down and making myself do something. The only reason this is Writing 101 assignment is getting done is because I feel like you all expect me to do it (I almost wrote “y’all” there but I realised I am way too English for that). Thank you for expecting that of me because I like being productive, and I do enjoy writing this. I just have trouble actually getting myself to actually do it.

I know this is meant to be me just free-writing, but I need to ask you this: have you got any tips that will help me to actually sit down and write? I don’t mean blog posts, because I can do that. I mean actual creative story writing. So, any tips?

4 thoughts on “WRITING 101: Inspiration From Twitter

  1. I totally know what you mean! When I am in a writing slump there is absolutely no way I am getting more than 2 sentences out.

    However, I actually did finish the first draft of my novel last November for NaNoWriMo and was so proud I made it through. I read two books beforehand that kind of helped me prepare for what was ahead. They were called “Ready? Set! Novel!” and “No Plot? No Problem!” I have the feeling that the first one is more fun to work with because it is really interactive, whereas the other one is specifically for NaNoWriMo.
    It helps you prepare your story in so far that you know everything about your characters, their friends, family and the setting. You just have to actually write it down in the end. NaNoWriMo helped me because I had a word count target every day and I was way too competitive to just give up (even though I sometimes really wanted to)

    I think it’s important that you don’t force it though. BUT in the end it doesn’t matter how your first draft looks like and it’s okay if it’s a mess with tons of plot holes. You’ll need a couple of re-writes anyway.

    If hope that helped a little and if you have any more detailed questions, I would sure like to help. Although I am not sure how much I actually know. I am mostly just winging it. lol

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow! Thank you so much for the help! I will definitely be looking up those books, especially the first one. I need help with starting off.
      This definitely helped me, and if I have any more questions I know who to ask 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Let's chat!

