Awards

Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award!

I was nominated my Erika @ Erika The Bibliophile who is really awesome so go and check out her blog.

These are the five rules to follow:

  1. Thank the blogger who nominated you, linking back to their site.

  2. Put the Award logo on your blog.

  3. Answer the ten questions sent to you.

  4. Make up ten new questions for your nominees to answer.

  5. Nominate ten blogs.

Questions Answered

Did you have a book that meant a lot to you as a child?

When I was very, very little I loved The Very Hungry Caterpillar. But when I was around eight to ten I would have to say Midnight by Jacqueline Wilson. I loved that book and even dressed up as Violet from Midnight on World Book Day when I was eleven.

Is there any author or book that you collect and will always welcome multiple editions of the same title?

Other than Harry Potter books, I would have to say Jane Eyre. I welcome all editions of Jane Eyre, the older the better.

Say that you find yourself judging a book by its cover (not that we ever do that!); what sort of covers do you go for? Are there any that are an absolute turn off?

I have one hatred when it comes to book covers and that’s having people posing on the front. It just looks tacky! I have no specific sort of cover I like, but my current favourites are All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven, The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton, and The Mime Order by Samantha Shannon. Aren’t they all so pretty!

If you could pick any imaginary animal to bring home to Mom with an earnest, “Can we keep him?”, what animal would it be?

Easy, a dragon. More specifically a dragon like Toothless from How To Train Your Dragon, which happens to be one of my favourite movies of all time. I want to be a dragon rider!

Is there any book to movie adaptation that you simply refuse to watch? No way, no how, you’re not even giving them the opportunity to mess it up?

I currently can’t think of anything for this one. I have more of a dislike of book to TV show adaptions than book to movie, because they tend to change the plot completely.

What is the most unusual book you’ve ever read? (Plot, writing style, chapter layout, etc?)

Maybe Percy Jackson? That’s weird, right? Honestly I haven’t read many weird books, which is really strange coming from someone who doesn’t like cliches.

Is there any book or series that you’ve read that is so totally outside of your normal genre, but you loved it and would recommend it to others as a “take a risk!” type of book?

When I read The Fault in Our Stars I was actually in a several year slump, and before then I was reading mainly fantasy and paranormal. So, as TFiOS is a contemporary, it was a big change for me.

Do you have any bookish collections, or anything you covet and hope to someday collect? Candles, artwork, bookcases?

I do have a lot of candles, well a lot for me anyways. Other than that I do collect rubber ducks and duck related things (don’t ask), but that’s not exactly bookish.

What book has been on your TBR pile the longest, but you just can’t convince yourself to pick it up?

Wuthering Heights. It’s been there for six years, and I still haven’t read it. I just really don’t fancy reading it.

You get a $500 gift card for all things bookish – do you run to your nearest bookstore and spend like a fiend? Or do you create pro/con lists (a la Rory Gilmore) to make sure you get just the right & perfect & wonderful bookish things? Or are you eyeing a particularly expensive bookcase somewhere?

I would write a list of the books I REALLY WANT, and then get them and then splurge whatever is left on any books that look good. Though I wouldn’t mind a new bookcase… Nope, books are more important.

As for the questions nominees should answer my mind is completely blank right now, so just answer these questions. It’ll be nice to see all of the different answers.

Now for the nominations. These are all blogs and bloggers I think are great, and I really enjoy their blogs. I recommend you check them out.

The Nominees

Sam @Taking On a World of Words

@The Literary Counsellor

Emily @Books & Cleverness

Jade @Book Muffin

@Kyrosmagica

Charlotte @It Does Not Do To Dwell On Dreams And Forget To Live

Anne @Books Baking and Blogging

Tasha @ The Bookie Monsters

Yvo @It’s All About Books

@FictionFan’s Book Reviews

Happy reading!

15 thoughts on “Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award!

  1. Woo! I’m so honored, Alicia! Thanks. And as promised, here are my answers.
    1. I loved the book ‘Scribbler of Dreams’ in middle school. It’s the first book I remember re-reading. Other than that, I can’t recall one.
    2. Harry Potter. Though I’ve delayed getting the new printing of the books because… well I really don’t have a good excuse.
    3. If I can tell the book cover was done by someone in photoshop who doesn’t know how to use the software, I’m not opening it. Also, any shirtless guy on the cover means it’s a genre I’m not really interested in. Next!
    4. A hippogrif!
    5. Not that I can think of. I’ll see if to review how close the book and movie were but if the director is going to mess up the book, I’m not going to be able to stop him.
    6. ‘Room’ by Emma Donoghue surprised me. It’s a very serious book for adults written from the point of view of a really young boy. It was well done and I really enjoyed it, but I was caught off guard.
    7. If I find a good non-fiction narrative, I’ll highly recommend it. So ‘Devil in the White City’ by Eric Larson or ‘The Girls of Atomic City’ by Denies Kiernan will get my recommendation.
    8. I’m a postcard collector. I love having a picture to remember a great trip.
    9. One of them is ‘Wuthering Bites,’ a vampire spoof of Wuthering Heights. I’ll either love it or hate it.
    10. First I’d have to buy another book case. There’s not enough room for the books I would get. Then I’d look through my book list for ones I can’t find at the library and buy them on Amazon. Then I would go nuts on a Barnes and Noble.

    Have a great day!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks so much for the nomination, Alicia – I’m flattered! I so agree about book covers – if I see one more woman looking back over her shoulder, I shall scream! And go on – I know you said ‘don’t ask’, but tell us about the ducks… 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Fine 😉 Well I have a ‘small’ obsession with ducks, which I think came from my love of Jemima Puddle-duck as a kid. And now I have a collection of over fifty, possibly one hundred duck themed things. By this I mean rubber ducks, stuffed ducks, duck pen holders, soap ducks, and a load more. My boyfriend even calls me Duck now. So yeah, I like ducks.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. If it helps I have a Maine Coon who somehow collects screws and other weird stuff in her toilet brush tail. Also she’s bigger than one of my dogs.

        Liked by 1 person

Let's chat!