Book Reviews

Book Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Publication Date: May 5th, 2015

Publisher: Bloomsbury Children’s

Genre(s): YA, Fantasy, Romance

Series Status: A Court of Thorns and Roses #1

Pages: 416

Format and Source: Paperback, Owned

Rating: 4.5 out of 5

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Feyre’s survival rests upon her ability to hunt and kill – the forest where she lives is a cold, bleak place in the long winter months. So when she spots a deer in the forest being pursued by a wolf, she cannot resist fighting it for the flesh. But to do so, she must kill the predator and killing something so precious comes at a price …

Dragged to a magical kingdom for the murder of a faerie, Feyre discovers that her captor, his face obscured by a jewelled mask, is hiding far more than his piercing green eyes would suggest. Feyre’s presence at the court is closely guarded, and as she begins to learn why, her feelings for him turn from hostility to passion and the faerie lands become an even more dangerous place. Feyre must fight to break an ancient curse, or she will lose him forever.

The start of a sensational romantic fantasy trilogy by the bestselling author of the Throne of Glass series.


I LOVED A Court of Thorns and Roses. A lot. But first I want to give you some insight into this book which I learnt from the Sarah J. Maas talk I attended at the MCM Expo. This book was first written as a version of Beauty and the Beast re-telling, but Maas changed it over the years, so, while it still has some of the same elements, it is entirely different. This is important to know as it gives a reason to the fairytale-esque plot, romance, and writing style.

Now I shall get onto the actual review. The first thing I want to talk about is Feyre, who is a character who seemed to jump off of the page. Not only is she stupidly hard-headed and stubborn, she was written with real emotions and curiosity. Sure, there were some (several) moments where I was shouting at her because she did something stupid (I advise not to do that in public), but I still liked that about her as it gave her a real personality. Her emotions were the most correct I have seen in character in a while. When she is forced to leave her family, whom she has been looking after without any praise for years, part of her worries about them, and part of her is happy that they will finally notice how she has been looking after them for all of these years. And honestly, I would probably feel the same. That’s why I like her so much.

There’s a small aspect I love about what Maas did with Feyre, and that’s that she gave her a love for art and painting. That doesn’t seem like much, but when I heard the way it came to Maas to add that in, it changed my perspective on it. Maas only added that in on the fifth draft of the book, and that was because she was reading through it and the descriptions Feyre used (as it is written in first person) were all so detailed and artistic, Maas said at the talk it was like Feyre was trying to tell her this all along. And I love that.

Anyway, moving on from my babbling. The others characters in this book, such as Tamlin and Lucien, were also as realistic and captivating as Feyre, as each one was given little idiosyncrasies that made them their own person.

This book completely unpredictable. There were so many things I looked past until suddenly they were brought up again, and I was sitting on the edge of my seat, staring at the same line for ages because I never saw that coming. That added to the fact that the entire book was filled new, imaginative ideas that seem to belong to pages of a Grimms’ Fairy Tales book, made the entire book an experience. The only reason I knocked .5 off of the rating was due to the fact that I found the romance slightly too cliche, but I understand why it’s like that since it is based off Beauty and the Beast.

Overall I love this book, and I am so bloody happy I got it signed. I can’t wait for the sequel.

4 thoughts on “Book Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Let's chat!

