Books

2016 Wrap-Up

2016-wrap-up

While I wasn’t blogging in 2016 (again, sorry!) I was reading. I read 46 books and I have to say I’m pretty bloody proud of that. While I didn’t meet my reading goal of 50 books, I still read a lot of books.

For this post I thought, instead of just listing all the books I read, I’m going to use the system the wonderful Booktuber, Ariel Bissett uses at the end of the year, which pleases my OCD greatly, and that is to list my favourite books, my least favourite books, the books with the most beautiful covers, and my favourite author of the year.

5-favourite-books-of-2016

  1. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern 
  2. Nimona by Noelle Stevenson
  3. It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini
  4. The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch
  5. The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet by Becky Chambers

 

3-most-disappointing-books

  1. Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi
  2. The Sin Eater’s Daughter by Melinda Salisbury
  3. Half Bad by Sally Green

 

3 Most Beautiful Covers of 2016.png

Some of my favourite books also have my favourite covers (The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet being my definite favourite) , but to add diversity to this I’m choosing different books.

  1. Made You Up by Francesca Zappia
  2. The Revenant by Michael Punke
  3. Jonathan Dark or The Evidence of Ghosts by A. K. Benedict

 

favourite-author

This has got to go to Scott Lynch. I started reading his Gentleman Bastard series and it is just so brilliant. He introduces us to a new world with new concepts, and somehow manages to develop the characters too!

If you want to see my entire list of books I read you can either check out my Books Read in 2016 page on my blog, or just look at my Goodreads.

I hope you have a great 2017!

One thought on “2016 Wrap-Up

  1. Such a varied selection of books! And what a coincidence, I also read 46 books in 2016 (my goal was 30). I’m sorry to hear Shatter Me was disappointing though; that one is on my TBR list.

    Anyway, I hope that you’re doing well and that 2017 has been good to you, Alicia. Happy reading!

    Summer

    Like

Let's chat!

