Life Updates

Life Update: June 13th, 2015

I’ve never done a ‘life update’ style post for some reason, but I think with all my absences and all the craziness going on I really should. I have a feeling this is going to be a long post, so I’m just going to make points.

  1. I’m in a book reading slump. For the past week I haven’t read any books, only fanfiction. I think this is because the book I am currently read is the last in a trilogy of books which are all long, and complicated, with a lot of politics, and, while they are very good, they have sort of drained my passion to read out of me. I’ve decided I won’t be reviewing this trilogy because I feel as if my judgement is strangely clouded when it comes to this trilogy. This is also the reason why I didn’t do my WWW Wednesday post this week as I’m not really reading much so it would have been quite a short and dull post.
  2. I am currently looking for a part time job. I am becoming increasingly broke recently, and I really need a job. I’ve spent ages walking around town and going into shops and handing strangers my CV in hope they’ll hire me. My current possibilities are a shoe shop, a shop that sells children’s clothes (though I hate children), and a electrical shop that said I would have to work from 6am to midday. Why do they need someone in at the ass-crack of dawn?!
  3. I have a stupidly long list of books sent to me by authors and publishers. I really have trouble saying no because it’s free books. How do you say no to that? I really need to learn to though since I already have so many to read. (This is not me rubbing this in in anyway! I am literally just stating a fact).
  4. I am visiting an old friend from the July 14th to July 16th. She lives over an hour away and we’ve been friends for years, and I can’t wait to spend time with her. The only issue is that I’m not sure I’ll be able to post then either, but I might be able to commandeer her laptop for a little while.
  5. I have YALC from July 17th to July 19th. I am really looking forward to going, but it’s going to be so hectic! There’s going to be so many authors and books and fun things I can’t wait! Tell me in the comments if you’re going to YALC this year.
  6. I am planning to do a ‘day in the life’ style post for when I visit my friend and for when I go to YALC, but only in pictures. This means that there will be no writing, just pictures. There’s no guarantees that this will happen though. Is this something you’ll enjoy?
  7. Sometime in August/September I am going to start studying three A Levels at home. I’ve chosen to do homeschooling due to my anxiety, but I don’t want to have to put off going to university for another two years, so instead I will be doing all three A Levels in one year, which is not going to be easy. I will have to study a minimum of 30 hours a week, so I might have to cut down on my posts. Also for all of you who are curious as to what I’m studying – which I doubt will be many of you – I’ll be studying English Literature, Classical Civilisations, and Philosophy.
  8. My June Favourites post is going to be up very late. I usually aim to have it up by the 6th of each month at the latest, but I have yet to put it up because I’m too lazy and tired. I was going to make up some intricate lie about how I can’t, but honestly I have become so very lazy when it comes to blogging and it’s really irritating.
  9. I am sorry to everyone who has nominated me for an award or tagged me to do a tag post. I will get round to it some time, but at this rate I won’t promise soon.
  10. I am also really really sorry for those whose comments I haven’t replied to, and whose links I haven’t checked out. I keep saying I’ll get round to it but it never happens. I think I need to spend one day soon just doing a mass reply session followed by an update of blog, because some of the pages need altering.

I knew this was going to be a long post. I am one of those people who hates having a hectic life, but recently that’s what it’s come to. I enjoy seeing my friends and all, but it’s the fact I have to go out so much when it’s sunny and humid that makes it sometimes sort of hard. (I hate the summer).

5 thoughts on “Life Update: June 13th, 2015

  1. Raw honesty. Nice. Post when it’s fun. That’s why do this. Remember that! I love the course of study you have mapped out. You have far more going for yourself than you realize, which is ok. I’m really impressed by your blog here. Your age makes it that much more amazing. But remember, this is fun! A week or two off won’t hurt anybody. Plus, you just might return feeling refreshed. Slow and steady wins the race….
    Also, I hope you can find a job that’s rewarding or fun in some way.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for such an amazing compliment! You have no idea how happy that makes me! 😀 I might take a week off sometime, but only if my passion for this dwindles enough.

    As for finding a job that’s fun, I really hope so but I am starting to doubt that will happen (none of my local book shops are hiring).

    Like

Let's chat!

