Book Reviews · Books

Book Review: Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

134557821Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi 

Publication Date: October 15th, 2011

Publisher: HarperCollins

Genre(s): YA, Dystopian, Fantasy, Romance

Series Status: Shatter Me #1

Pages: 338

Format and Source: Paperback, Bought

Rating: 1.75 out of 5

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Juliette hasn’t touched anyone in exactly 264 days.

The last time she did, it was an accident, but The Reestablishment locked her up for murder. No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal. As long as she doesn’t hurt anyone else, no one really cares. The world is too busy crumbling to pieces to pay attention to a 17-year-old girl. Diseases are destroying the population, food is hard to find, birds don’t fly anymore, and the clouds are the wrong color.

The Reestablishment said their way was the only way to fix things, so they threw Juliette in a cell. Now so many people are dead that the survivors are whispering war – and The Reestablishment has changed its mind. Maybe Juliette is more than a tortured soul stuffed into a poisonous body. Maybe she’s exactly what they need right now.

Juliette has to make a choice: Be a weapon. Or be a warrior.


I did not enjoy this book, so unfortunately this is going to be quite a negative review which I am sorry for.

The major fault I found in this book is the writing style. It’s like marmite, you either love it or you hate it, and I didn’t like it at all. In the first few chapters it was OK and I had hope that it would get better, but it was all downhill from there.

My least favourite thing about this book is how utterly pretentious it is. Ridiculous metaphors are used that make absolutely no sense. Half the sentences are crossed out in an attempt to be clever. There are so many one word sentences and slashes that I thought that the author both didn’t know what a comma was and was incredibly indecisive. The parts which don’t contain any action aren’t even added into the book, so the only suspense you get is from the stupidly short sentences. There was a bad insta-romance which I felt like was just put in there to add some kiss scenes I guess people who actually like the writing style would deem to be ‘hot’. Honestly the writing in this book is what I imagine John Green would write when he’s drunk: filled with metaphors that are meant to be deep but are as shallow as a puddle.

I did like some things about this book though. I felt like Juliette was a believable character in her actions – not in her thoughts though as she was so pretentious I wanted to slap her. But her actions and attitude were pretty realistic. I also like Kenji as he was a pretty believable and funny character. It’s just the writing let them both down.

As for the plot, I found that quite stereotypical dystopian, just more boring. It lacked the usual grit and oomph making it quite dull, particularly setting wise. I didn’t find the world itself at all scary or sinister, which shows just how emotionally unattached I was to this book.

The thing that that pissed me off most about this book though was that I couldn’t put it down! So many times I wanted to stop reading it because the language annoyed me, but I couldn’t! I read it until the end and I have no clue why. It wasn’t as if I was emotionally invested in the book or anything. I just had to finish it.

Overall this is not a book I would recommend, unless you can deal with the pretentious writing style. I’m sorry if I insulted anyone’s favourite book with this review, but this is my honest opinion and you are allowed to have your own. I really wanted to enjoy this book but I just couldn’t. And, as you can probably tell, I won’t be reading the other books in the trilogy.

One thought on “Book Review: Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

Let's chat!

