Blog Tours · Books

BLOG TOUR: Interview + Giveaway with Author Ritter Ames!

counterfeitbanner

So today is a post I am really excited for, and that is an interview and giveaway with the wonderful author, Ritter Ames, to help promote her new – and awesome book – Counterfeit Conspiracies!

I hope you enjoy this post as much as I did writing it.

INTERVIEW

1. Let’s break the ice; tell us a bit about yourself.

I’m a lifelong reader of everything I can get my hands on, but mysteries are my particular favorite. I love books that let me escape. I also love to visit great places and eat fun foods. Finally, I have a wonderful white Labrashepherd that loves going wherever my husband and I decide to go.

2. How would you describe your book? Is it romantic? Action-packed? Downright crazy? Or everything combined? 

A little of most of the above, and a lot of action-packed mystery. Reviewers have called it “a high-octane thrill ride” and “a mix of White Collar and Leverage.”

3. What was your favourite scene to write?

Probably the very first one, though I truly love writing every scene in this series. I call the series my “running away from home” writing, as there isn’t anything better than adding twists to the plot, snark to the dialogue, and sparks between the female main character, Laurel Beacham, and her nemesis Jack Hawkes.

4. Describe the protagonist, Laurel, in five words (hyphenated words are allowed).

Determined

Ethical-though-her-ethics-may-vary-from-normal-standards

Savvy

Focused

Unexpected

5. When reading ‘Counterfeit Conspiracies’ I realised your description of art pieces were quite emotive. Is art a big interest for you, or did you just decide that it would be an interesting subject to write about? 

I’ve always been a big fan of art and art history, and took every art history course my university offered—though I was majoring in business at the time. I think it was a case of being a bit of a frustrated artist. I can’t create on the canvas, so I write about it on the page.

6. What is your writing set-up? Is it on the sofa with the TV on? At a desk with your laptop? Or maybe at a coffee shop sipping a latte and writing in a notebook?

Honestly, I can pretty much write anywhere. At the moment, I’m staying at a friend’s house in Phoenix to attend Left Coast Crime, and I’m sitting on her balcony writing in the lovely February evening temps, listening to traffic fly down Camelback Road. At home, I have an office (it’s the smallest bedroom in our house), but I often take my laptop outside and work on my front porch. I also love to write while my husband is driving somewhere. He turns on NPR, and I work without interruption.

7. If you could recommend any author and book to my followers who/what would it be? 

Hands down, anything by Elizabeth Peters—in all the names she wrote under. Loved her books.

Thanks so much for inviting me here today. I appreciate the opportunity to stop here on my blog tour and talk about Counterfeit Conspiracies, and my Bodies of Art Mysteries. The second book, Marked Masters, is on sale now too, and picks up where Counterfeit Conspiracies leaves off. Third in the series, Abstract Aliases, will be on sale in early October. Thanks again and happy reading.

Thank you so much Ritter for letting me interview you! I thoroughly enjoyed both this and reading your book. 

ABOUT THE BOOK

27868433

Title: Counterfeit Conspiracies

Author: Ritter Ames

Genre: Mystery / Suspense

Laurel Beacham may have been born with a silver spoon in her mouth, but she has long since lost it digging herself out of trouble. Her father gambled and womanized his way through the family fortune before skiing off an Alp, leaving her with more tarnish than trust fund. Quick wits and connections have gained her a reputation as one of the world’s premier art recovery experts. The police may catch the thief, but she reclaims the missing masterpieces.

The latest assignment, however, may be her undoing. Using every ounce of luck and larceny she possesses, Laurel must locate a priceless art icon and rescue a co-worker (and ex-lover) from a master criminal, all the while matching wits with a charming new nemesis. Unfortunately, he seems to know where the bodies are buried—and she prefers hers isn’t next.

 Amazon US | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | Apple iBooks/iTunes

AUTHOR BIO

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Ritter Ames is the USA Today Bestselling author of the Organized Mysteries series and the Bodies of Art Mysteries series. When she’s not writing or brainstorming new mysteries Ritter is usually trying to get her favorite yellow lab to stay out of the pond, or keep her grouchy black cat from trying to give the dog away on Freecycle. Ritter would love to live on a boat and write from far flung locations around the globe, but the dog would constantly have to be fished from the water, and her husband and cat would just complain endlessly about the dog’s smell, so staying on land seems to be the only good option to keep her sanity and not get sidetracked from writing.

Ritter tries to blog regularly so subscribe there to get the latest news about upcoming releases, and inside scoops on her characters and series. She uses her Pinterest boards  to capture great places and ideas she wants to use in both series. Follow her blog and boards to learn more about Ritter and her upcoming books. You can also find her Facebook author or follow her on Twitter @RitterAmes.

GIVEAWAY TIME!

Now for the frankly awesome giveaway of a Counterfeit Conspiracies prize package valued at $150!

Just click here to enter this Rafflecopter giveaway!

 

 

 

Let's chat!

