Books · Writing 101

WRITING 101: How I Blog

rsz_writing_101

For today’s Writing 101 assignment we were given a task I’ve actually been wanting to do for while, and that’s my wants, needs, and habits when it comes to how I write for my blog. Also, at the end of this post there will be a pole where you can suggest what sorts of posts you would like to see me write, so feel free to vote on that.

Anywho, here’s how I write for my blog…


Where?

I write my blog posts in three places:

  1. My bed. If I want to relax straight after I blog I do it in bed. That and my bed is really comfortable.
  2. My desk. If I am having trouble concentrating and I want to bang out a load of posts I will do it at my desk. I feel more business-like and professional when I work at my desk, even if I am in my pjs.
  3. A coffee shop. I write a lot in coffee shops, usually in a notebook and not on my laptop. I find them one of the best places to work as I don’t have as many distractions, and there are great drinks. I have written quite a few book reviews in Costa.

When?

I sometimes write either in the afternoon when I am feeling particularly productive, or late at night when I can’t sleep. Or I have put it off until one in the morning. Not that I procrastinate or anything…

Equipment/Supplies?

  • Laptop
  • Notebook
  • Pens
  • Tea
  • Post-it notes
  • Book I am reviewing

Anything else?

I prefer writing when it’s silent. Not ‘can hear my own heartbeat’ silent. Just ‘no loud noises’ silent. This means no music, no TV, no videos. Nothing. I can deal with being in a coffee shop because all the noises blend together and I don’t get too distracted. But when I’m at home I really prefer not having loud, distracting noises in the background.


5 thoughts on “WRITING 101: How I Blog

Let's chat!

