Writing 101

WRITING 101: List and One Word Inspiration

rsz_writing_101

I am so so sorry for my lack of posts yesterday. I was just having one of those days where I had no drive at all. But I’m back and I’m going to complete both Writing 101 assignments in one post.

Yesterdays assignment was to write a list of either things I like, things I’ve learned, or things I wish. I chose things I’ve learned, and I’m going to see if I can make a list of ten things. They’re going to be random things which are either life lessons, blogging tips, or how not to be a complete idiot.

So, here we go…


Things I’ve learned:

  1. Never text in the shower. Just don’t. It might go well the first couple of times and you may be really really careful, but the next thing you know you’re phone screen will be discoloured and you will get pissed off at yourself.
  2. If you don’t understand something, ASK! I used to be too shy to do this, but now I’m not afraid to ask someone what something means. How else are you going to learn?
  3. When you screw up, laugh at yourself, especially in public. When I was younger and screwed up in public I used to get really embarrassed and almost cry as everyone laughed. Now I laugh too because this shit happens! It’s easier to laugh with a crowd than be laughed at. And the crowd will have a lot more respect for you too.
  4. Never ever read a book you know is funny in a public place. I have lost count of the number of times I was sitting in a coffee shop and I failed at containing my laughter, and then got stared at as I try my very best not to cackle.
  5. On the same topic, never read a book you know is sad in a public place. I did this with The Fault in Our Stars, in the Sixth Form Common Room, on my period. I was tired from school, my hormones were out of whack, and I was too emotionally invested in the book. It is not possible to discretely sob in a packed room. It just isn’t.
  6. It’s OK to be childish sometimes. Being childish can be fun, just as long as you know when to be serious.
  7. Learn to be happy when you are alone. Being alone and being lonely are two entirely different things. If you can be happy when you are alone you aren’t lonely. It also makes you more comfortable with yourself.
  8. Know when to admit defeat after a battle well-fought. I know this lesson too well. I wanted to continue attending Sixth Form and having a full-time education, but I realised that I just couldn’t do it as I’d be sacrificing my mental health. So I admitted defeat and made new plans, because that’s what you do. Life carries on.
  9. When blogging becomes a chore, take a break until it becomes fun again. I took a hiatus and I found myself writing reviews in coffee shops again, when before the thought of writing made me cringe and hide behind my cup of tea and Netflix.
  10. Do not wear a corset to comic con. You will end up lying on the floor five hours in, hearing people say, “Is that Thor lying on the floor?” and all you can do is groan and try your best to wrap yourself in your cape.

Now for today’s prompt. We were given six words, and from those words we must choose one to write about. These words were: treasure, regret, home, love, uncertainty, and secret. While I do have a short story idea for secret, it’s something that will take longer than I’d like to take on a post to write. So instead I will go for home…


HOME

I have moved a lot in my life. I am eighteen years old, I have moved eight times, lived in seven houses, and I am currently not living in my home country. So you can probably tell that my view on ‘home’ may be a little different from others.

When I was sixteen I moved away from my parent’s for two years, and I think that effected how I perceived home. Before home was where my things were, where my bed was, and where I spent most of my time. Now home is where my closest family is, where my pets are, and where I fit in the most.

If I was to move house again I would a tad sad, because I do like the house I am currently in, but it wouldn’t affect me much. It’s just another building that shelters me from the elements, has a place where I pee and shower, and has a bed. It would be moving away from my family that would make it hard. But if I was to move with them it wouldn’t change much. A house isn’t home to me anymore.

8 thoughts on “WRITING 101: List and One Word Inspiration

  1. The fault in our stars.

    I am half way through that book now and I can’t stop reading. The only reason I am here is because I wanted to post something on my blog. Did you like the book?

    Liked by 1 person

Let's chat!

