Top Ten Tuesday

TOP ‘TEN’ TUESDAY: Characters Who Are As Bookish As Us

Smaller Top Ten

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish once a week, and this week’s list is ten characters who are fellow book nerds. I had so much trouble coming up with this list. My mind just went blank so there’s definitely not going to be ten here.

Number one: Hermione Granger from the Harry Potter series by J. K. Rowling

This was the first character that came to my head, and probably the most obvious character of all. She is the most bookish character I can think of.

Number two: Cath from Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

I think the title of the book explains how bookish she is.

Number three: Celaena Sardothien from the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas

I remember writing a Friday 56 post where I quoted Throne of Glass and in it Celaena was complaining about a library where nobody reads the books. I think that helped me with my love for the Throne of Glass series. (Click here to see the Friday 56 post I mentioned.)

Number four: Elend Venture from the Mistborn trilogy by Brandon Sanderson

When Elend is introduced in the books we know from the beginning he loves books. He even takes them to parties and reads them there, ignoring everyone else (this sounds like something I’d do). If that doesn’t make him a fellow book nerd, I don’t know what does.

Number five: Bella Swan from the Twilight Saga by Stephanie Meyer

It came down to this. She is literally the last character I thought of. In the books she seemed to read quite a bit, particularly in Twilight. So I guess she probably knows books and could possibly be considered a book nerd… Honestly I am scraping the bottom of the barrel, which is really my brain. This shows how hard it was to come up with this list of FIVE characters.

Why aren’t there more bookish characters in books? I really thought I could think of more, but apparently not.

Please leave comments down with some suggestions because I feel like this week’s list was crap.

Also if you have a Top Ten Tuesday post of your own leave the link for it so I can check it out and steal some of your ideas.

26 thoughts on “TOP ‘TEN’ TUESDAY: Characters Who Are As Bookish As Us

  1. I would have included Bella as my number 11 if the list was longer. I kept thinking about her reading Austen but I already included Elizabeth Bennet 🙂
    Cath and Hermione are very popular this week – I haven’t read Fangirl yet but I really want to!
    Nice list 🙂

    Like

  2. I also had a hard time with this tag! A couple of mine are real stretches. But then I went and looked at other people’s lists and saw some obvious ones I missed. Like I loved Little Women as a kid, but I completely forgot about Jo. Great list though, we both included Celaena.

    Like

Let's chat!

