Top Ten Tuesday

TOP TEN TUESDAY: Hyped Books I’ve Never Read

Smaller Top Ten

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish once a week, and this week’s list is hyped books I have never read. I feel like this will be another Top ‘Ten’ Tuesday because not many books spring to mind. Also I’m not adding the synopsis for these like usual because I think you’ll probably know what each book is about (and I’m writing this at one in the morning and I’m tired). Let’s just see how it goes.

Number one: The Vampire Academy series by Richelle Mead

I went through a vampire phase when Twilight was big, and yet I somehow didn’t get around to reading the Vampire Academy books. I read Vampire Diaries and House of Night – both of which aren’t the best – but I’ve heard pretty good things about the Vampire Academy series.

Number two: The Maze Runner series by James Dashner

I actually read the first couple of pages of this, but it just didn’t appeal to me at all.

Number three: The Chronicles of Narnia by C. S. Lewis

I absolutely adored the movies, but I feel like I’m betraying my bookishness(?) when I say I haven’t read the books. I really want to though, but I just never get around to it.

Number four: Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

I have seen this everywhere. BookTubers and bloggers alike love it, and I just haven’t read it. I think it’s because I tend not to read romance much because I find it sort of dull. I think I’ll just stick to my fantasy and science fiction books thanks.

Number five: The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

I swear I am the only person who hasn’t read this! I do own a copy, but I just never got around to reading it. I will read it one day.

Number six: The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

This is another book I swear everyone has read, except for me. I shall read it one day!

Number seven: Me and Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews

This is one of those books that seems brilliant and people like it a lot, and yet I just haven’t read it yet.

Number eight: Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz

Of course I had to add this, as everyone has read it. Except for me, obviously.

Number nine: The Diviners by Libba Bray

I have seen this everywhere and people love it, and I love the sound of it so I’ll probably read it too someday.

Number ten: A Darker Shade of Magic by V. E. Schwab

This is probably the most recent book out of my ten, but the hype for it was huge! It was all over Twitter and YouTube and blogs, it was amazing the splash this made and I really need to read this.

I got ten books! Yay!

Leave you link for you Top Ten Tuesday in the comments so I can check it out, but if it takes me a while to check it out I am so so sorry. I still haven’t caught up with all the comments from my Friday 56 post because I’ve been so tired.

Anyway, happy Tuesday!

18 thoughts on “TOP TEN TUESDAY: Hyped Books I’ve Never Read

  1. Oh my goodness, you HAVE to read A Darker Shade of Magic!! It’s so amazing! The Book Thief and The Perks of Being a Wallflower are also must-reads in my vote. I did enjoy The Maze Runner, however the rest of the series was a real disappointment for me. Still, the first book is worth reading! Great list! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve heard a lot of people say that about The Maze Runner series. I don’t want to read it to be let down by the other books.

      Thank you! πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. I haven’t read Perks, the Diviners or the Maze Runner either, and I only read two of the Chronicles of Narnia! They’re kind of kiddish and (I thought) not as fun as the movies, which actually pains me to say. Great list!
    Here’s my TTT!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve read a lot of these books. I really liked The Perks of Being A Wallflower, The Book Thief, Aristotle and Dante, and A Darker Shade of Magic. The Maze Runner made my list this week too. Me and Earl and the Dying Girl is on my TBR shelf, but I haven’t read it yet.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve read VA when I was younger and The Perks of Being a Wallflower back in school. I’ve heard Maze Runner is supposed to be quite boring. The others on your list I’m not really interested either πŸ˜‰ Great picks!
    My TTT

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Maze Runner is good, but it’s not for everyone. I only read the Narnia books and Perks when I got much older than their intended audience. The earlier books in the Narnia series are actually my favourites, but they haven’t been made into movies yet. When you do read The Book Thief I don’t think you will be disappointed. It was surprisingly good and lived up to the hype.

    I haven’t read any of your other choices. Maybe some day, but it will probably be when all the hype has worn off.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re making me even more excited to read The Book Thief. It already sounds so amazing.

      I’ll probably read several of the books in this list when the hype has worn off too.

      Like

Let's chat!

