Sunday Comforts

SUNDAY COMFORTS: June 21st, 2015

rsz_sunday_comforts

Sunday Comforts is a weekly feature on here where I answer questions about a book I already love and want to seek comfort in re-reading them. Here are the questions:

What do you feel like re-reading, or have re-read this week? 

Eragon by Christopher Paolini

When Eragon finds a polished stone in the forest, he thinks it is the lucky discovery of a poor farm boy; perhaps it will buy his family meat for the winter. But when the stone brings a dragon hatchling, Eragon soon realizes he has stumbled upon a legacy nearly as old as the Empire itself.

Overnight his simple life is shattered and he is thrust into a perilous new world of destiny, magic and power. With only an ancient sword and the advice of an old storyteller for guidance, Eragon and the fledgling dragon must navigate the dangerous terrain and dark enemies of an Empire ruled by a king whose evil knows no bounds. Can Eragon take up the mantle of the legendary Dragon Riders? The fate of the Empire may rest in his hands…

Is there any reason you want to re-read this book?

I want to re-read it because this was the first book where there was truly a new culture and politics within it, and so now I want to read it for nostalgic reasons. I also haven’t read it in years.

What’s your favourite thing about this book?

Definitely the world building. Paolini created entirely new cultures, languages, species, and politics, and it was written in a truly believable and realistic way that every time I read it I am in awe at his skills.

I wish I could re-read this book, but unfortunately I am trying to speed through my TBR pile so I can’t right now. Hopefully I’ll be able to soon.

What do you currently feel like re-reading? You can have a go doing this, and, if you do, leave the link below.

Happy Sunday!

3 thoughts on “SUNDAY COMFORTS: June 21st, 2015

  1. I completely agree- there is some seriously awesome world-building in the Eragon series! Everything is so complex and detailed, and I have no idea how Christopher Paolini managed to come up with all of it, never mind explain it to the readers! Cool feature!

    Liked by 1 person

Let's chat!

