Sunday Comforts

SUNDAY COMFORTS: June 14th, 2015

rsz_sunday_comforts

Sunday Comforts is a weekly feature on here where I answer questions about a book I already love and want to seek comfort in re-reading them. Here are the questions:

What do you feel like re-reading, or have re-read this week?ย 

Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card

‘The human race faces annihilation.

An alien threat is on the horizon, ready to strike. And if humanity is to be defended, the government must create the greatest military commander in history.

The brilliant young Ender Wiggin is their last hope. But first he must survive the rigours of a brutal military training program – to prove that he can be the leader of all leaders.

A saviour for mankind must be produced, through whatever means possible. But are they creating a hero or a monster?’

Is there any reason you want to re-read this book?

I think I want to re-read it because I am currently reading a science fiction book trilogy which has aliens and action and war, and Ender’s Game is one of my favourite science fiction books which focuses on these subjects.

What’s your favourite thing about this book?

This is hard to answer, but I think it is probably the theme of what is good and evil. Ender committed xenocide, and yet he was a child who was tricked into becoming this brutal commander. This shows how complicated it is to have the black and white definition of good and evil when most things are variations of grey. If you want to read my rambling review about it click here.

I am not going to re-read this book for a while because I am currently busy reading a load of books in my TBR pile, and getting ready for my parents visit soon. I’ll probably just re-watch the inaccurate movie.

If you want a go at this please go ahead and link your post in the comments.

Happy Sunday!

4 thoughts on “SUNDAY COMFORTS: June 14th, 2015

  1. I have a few books that I have reread….and want to do so again. Even though I recently purged my shelves, I kept some old favorites, like books by Barbara Taylor Bradford (A Woman of Substance); Marge Piercy (Fly Away Home); and Sara Davidson (Loose Change). All of these books remind me of my younger years…there is a sentimental attachment.

    Here are MY WEEKLY UPDATES

    Like

Let's chat!

