WWW Wednesdays

WWW WEDNESDAYS: May 6th, 2015

Smaller WWW Wednesdays

WWW Wednesday is a meme hosted by Taking On A World of Words where three question are asked:

What are you currently reading?

Paige Mahoney has escaped the brutal prison camp of Sheol I, but her problems have only just begun: many of the survivors are missing and she is the most wanted person in London…

As Scion turns its all-seeing eye on the dreamwalker, the mime-lords and mime-queens of the city’s gangs are invited to a rare meeting of the Unnatural Assembly. Jaxon Hall and his Seven Seals prepare to take centre stage, but there are bitter fault lines running through the clairvoyant community and dark secrets around every corner.

Then the Rephaim begin crawling out from the shadows. But where is Warden? Paige must keep moving, from Seven Dials to Grub Street to the secret catacombs of Camden, until the fate of the underworld can be decided.’

I am reading The Mime Order by Samantha Shannon, the second book in The Bone Season series, and I have to say that I like this more than the first book. It’s filled with intricate politics, and a murder mystery, it’s just really good.

What did you recently finish?

‘After setting out to break the curse that binds them, the pirate Ananna and the assassin Naji find themselves stranded on an enchanted island in the north with nothing but a sword, their wits, and the secret to breaking their curse.

With the help of a friend and a rather unusual ally, Ananna and Naji make their way south, seeking to achieve the impossible.

Three times.

But Naji has unseen enemies, and Ananna must face the wrath of the Pirate Confederation. Together, they must travel afar, defeat their foes and break the mother of all curses.

With all this going on, falling in love would be such a bad idea…

The swash-buckling sequel to The Assassin’s Curse.’

I haven’t finished any books in the past week because I’ve been flitting between The Mime Order and fanfiction (don’t judge me) so that last book I finished is still The Pirate’s Wish by Cassandra Rose Clarke, which is a book I didn’t particularly like. Click here to see my review for it.

What do you think you’ll read next?

We all know that growing up is hard to do, and sometimes the only thing that makes it better are the reassuring words of someone who has walked that bumpy road just a few steps ahead of you and somehow ended up as a fully-functioning adult. Carrie Hope Fletcher is that person. Thanks to her phenomenally popular YouTube videos, Carrie has become an ‘honorary big sister’ to hundreds of thousands of young people who turn to her for advice, friendship and, most of all, the knowledge that things will get better.

Carrie has created a safe and positive space for young people to connect and share their hopes and concerns online, and now she will share her most personal thoughts and experiences in her first book, ALL I KNOW NOW. It includes Carrie’s thoughts on some of the topics she’s asked about most regularly: bullying, body image, relationships and perhaps the scariest question of all: what does the future hold for me? With warmth, wit and a sprinkling of hard-won wisdom, Carrie will provide the essential tools for growing up gracefully . . . most of the time.’

I’m going to read All I Know Now by Carrie Hope Fletcher, which is a book I’ve been excited to read since I heard about it. I can’t wait to read it, especially since I’ll be meeting the author at YALC (Young Adult Literary Convention) at London Film and Comic Con in July, along with a load of other authors. I’ll put the link to the list of authors that are going to be there here. I am so excited!

Anyway, what are you currently reading? Have you got a WWW Wednesday post of your own? If so leave the link to it below so I can check it out.

Happy Wednesday!

10 thoughts on “WWW WEDNESDAYS: May 6th, 2015

  1. Nothing wrong with a little fanfiction! I write it myself. I only with it counted toward my Goodreads goal. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have the book before The Pirate’s Wish (The Assassin’s Curse) on my TBR, hopefully I will enjoy it enough to read the second. I’ve heard several positive reviews on both books, I’m sorry to hear you didn’t like it that much. The Mime Order seems interesting, looking forward to reading your thoughts on it. (If you write a review, that is.) Nice post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope you enjoy The Assassin’s Curse duology(?) more than I did. It’s just a matter of opinion really, and each person’s is different.

      As for The Mime Order there will be a review up today or tomorrow because I quite literally just finished the book.

      Thank you! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I also have All I Know Now on my TBR pile; I love that it’s yellow, happy and bright which just makes you want to read it.
    I don’t know of the other books you are reading but I do have The Mad Scientist’s Daughter by Cassandra Rose Clarke on my shelf – have you read this? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s one of the reasons I want to read it. There’s so much attention to detail that will probably making reading All I Know Now so much better.

      I haven’t read that, but I have heard of it. Is it good?

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve seen The Pirate’s Wish around but I’m not sure I would enjoy it… The Mime Order sounds like an interesting read though. Happy Wednesday! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Let's chat!

