Haul

Book Depository Haul!

I recently ordered some new books from Book Depository – which is probably my favourite book buying website ever – and I just received the last of them today. The main theme for this book haul is fantasy series, with one exception. You might have heard me mention some of these before, but anyway here they are.

The Mime Order by Samantha Shannon (The Bone Season Series #2)

‘Paige Mahoney has escaped the brutal prison camp of Sheol I, but her problems have only just begun: many of the survivors are missing and she is the most wanted person in London…

As Scion turns its all-seeing eye on the dreamwalker, the mime-lords and mime-queens of the city’s gangs are invited to a rare meeting of the Unnatural Assembly. Jaxon Hall and his Seven Seals prepare to take centre stage, but there are bitter fault lines running through the clairvoyant community and dark secrets around every corner.

Then the Rephaim begin crawling out from the shadows. But where is Warden? Paige must keep moving, from Seven Dials to Grub Street to the secret catacombs of Camden, until the fate of the underworld can be decided.’

I recently read The Bone Season, and while I did have issues with it, the story itself was good enough for me to get the next book. I’m current reading it am liking it more than the previous book. A review of it will probably be up sometime soon.

Cinder by Marissa Meyer (The Lunar Chronicles #1)

‘A forbidden romance.

A deadly plague.

Earth’s fate hinges on one girl . . .

CINDER, a gifted mechanic in New Beijing, is also a cyborg. She’s reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s sudden illness. But when her life becomes entwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she finds herself at the centre of a violent struggle between the desires of an evil queen – and a dangerous temptation.

Cinder is caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal. Now she must uncover secrets about her mysterious past in order to protect Earth’s future.

This is not the fairytale you remember. But it’s one you won’t forget.’

I have heard so much about this book being brilliant, and that, combined with how amazing the synopsis sounds, made me decide I need this book in my life.

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas (Throne of Glass Series #1)

‘Meet Celaena Sardothien.

Beautiful. Deadly. Destined for greatness.

In the dark, filthy salt mines of Endovier, an eighteen-year-old girl is serving a life sentence. She is a trained assassin, the best of her kind, but she made a fatal mistake. She got caught.

Young Captain Westfall offers her a deal: her freedom in return for one huge sacrifice. Celaena must represent the prince in a to-the-death tournament – fighting the most gifted thieves and assassins in the land. Live or die, Celaena will be free. Win or lose, she is about to discover her true destiny. But will her assassin’s heart be melted?’

I’ve already mentioned this before as it was delivered a few days ago. I can’t wait to start reading it.

Talon by Julie Kagawa (Talon Saga #1)

‘‘There are a dozen soldiers hiding in that maze. All hunting you. All looking to kill you.’

To the outside world Ember Hill is an ordinary girl, but Ember has a deadly secret. A dragon hiding in human form, she is destined to fight the shadowy Order of St. George, a powerful society of dragonslayers.

St. George soldier Garret is determined to kill Ember and her kind. Until her bravery makes him question all he’s been taught about dragons.

Now a war is coming and Garret and Ember must choose their sides – fight to save their bond or fulfil their fate and destroy one another.’

This is probably the only book I wasn’t planning on getting. I was just browsing through the Book Depository website and I saw it and it sort of reminded me of Eragon, which is one of my favourite books, so I decided to give it a go.

All I Know Now: Wonderings and Reflections on Growing Up Gracefully by Carrie Hope Fletcher

‘We all know that growing up is hard to do, and sometimes the only thing that makes it better are the reassuring words of someone who has walked that bumpy road just a few steps ahead of you and somehow ended up as a fully-functioning adult. Carrie Hope Fletcher is that person. Thanks to her phenomenally popular YouTube videos, Carrie has become an ‘honorary big sister’ to hundreds of thousands of young people who turn to her for advice, friendship and, most of all, the knowledge that things will get better.

Carrie has created a safe and positive space for young people to connect and share their hopes and concerns online, and now she will share her most personal thoughts and experiences in her first book, ALL I KNOW NOW. It includes Carrie’s thoughts on some of the topics she’s asked about most regularly: bullying, body image, relationships and perhaps the scariest question of all: what does the future hold for me? With warmth, wit and a sprinkling of hard-won wisdom, Carrie will provide the essential tools for growing up gracefully . . . most of the time.’

Carrie Fletcher is probably one of my favourite YouTubers ever. She is so lovely, and full of life, and she has a love of books too, so when I saw she had a book coming out I decided that I need to read it. I will probably read this soon.

Are there any books here that look interesting to you? Or maybe you are excited about a new book of your own which you recently got? Tell me in the comments because I’m always interested to here your opinion.

5 thoughts on “Book Depository Haul!

  1. Oh my gosh, I love Carrie so much!! I’ve had my eye on her book ever since she announced she was writing one and I can’t wait to read it. She’s like a big sister on Youtube- she’s so positive and funny and just awesome!

    Liked by 1 person

Let's chat!

