Book Reviews

Book Review: Every Day by David Levithan

Every Day by David Levithan

Publication Date: August 28th, 2012

Publisher: Ember

Genre(s): YA, Fantasy, Contemporary, Romance

Series Status: Every Day #1

Pages: 324

Format and Source: Paperback, Owned

Rating: 4 out of 5

Synopsis from Goodreads:

I wake up.

Immediately, I have to figure out who I am. It’s not just the body – opening my eyes and discovering whether the skin on my arm is light or dark, whether my hair is long or short, whether I’m fat or thin, boy or girl, scarred or smooth. The body is the easiest thing to adjust to, if you’re used to waking up in a new one each morning. It’s the life, the context of the body, that can be hard to grasp.

Every day I am someone else. I am myself – I know I am myself – but I am also someone else.

It has always been like this.


I picked Every Day up wanting a fairly easy, but good, read. And that’s what I got.

First of all I love the whole idea this is based on. You may think waking up every day in a different body is quite simple to understand, but it’s so much more complicated than that. A can be a different gender each day, and lead an entirely different life, and this has been A’s way of life throughout the entirety of A’s existence. A is a gender-less, body-less being who doesn’t confine itself to the normal confines of society. You could describe A as pansexual, and yet since A is neither sex you can’t. This offers so many different philosophical questions which makes everything much deeper and more complicated.

Another issue A raised in that if A was to die nobody would miss A since A has never had a constant life, body, or anything like that, so A wouldn’t be missed. This reminds me of a quote, which I think is from Doctor Who, but it’s still good and I think very true: ‘We are all stories in the end.’ This is one of my favourite quotes as in the end we will be storiesthat people tell to others, so in some way we do live on. But A doesn’t have that ability, as A is everyone and no one. A’s story will probably never be truly told, and that’s sad.

Other than the bloody amazing plot, there is romance, and I have to say I liked it a lot. It isn’t the sort of romance where nothing matters other than the love they have for one and other. There are so many issues and underlying factors that it isn’t what you can call ‘smooth running’. Rhiannon does struggle with both the gender side of things, and the entire situation overall – which is understandable considering the circumstances. Again, there are so many factors to be considered than I think we all realise.

If you are going to read this book, which I recommend you do, the ending isn’t definitive, you’re heart might ache from time to time, and you will feel for A a lot, but it is all worth it. Overall this was a very good read.

6 thoughts on “Book Review: Every Day by David Levithan

Let's chat!

