Top Ten Tuesday

TOP TEN TUESDAY: My All Time Favourite Authors

Smaller Top Ten

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish once a week, and this week’s list is my top ten author’s of all time. This was a nightmare to make, mainly because I am one of those people who flits from author to author, rarely ever completing a book series. Talking about my favourite books is easy, but my favourite author’s, well, that’s a different matter entirely.

This list is in no particular order (though the top one is probably my number one favourite).

Number one: J. K. Rowling

If this one wasn’t obvious then you obviously have never read any of my posts before. Not only is J. K. Rowling an outstanding person outside of the literary world, she created one of the most iconic and brilliant book series ever. Honestly if I met her I would probably babble on and on about her brilliance before passing out because I forgot to breathe.

Number two: John Green

I only really got into his works just before The Fault in Our Stars movie came out when I read the book, and his work got me back into reading. I was in a several year reading slump back then, but then I found the amazing, tear-jerking, heart-wrenching, humour-filled masterpiece which is The Fault in Our Stars, and I fell in love with reading all over again. I then started to follow him on YouTube as part of the Vlogbrothers duo, where I found out that both him and his brother, Hank Green, are amazingly witty and giving people. John is another author who is great both inside and outside of the literary world.

Number three: Jacqueline Wilson

Jacqueline Wilson’s books are some of the first proper books I ever read, and I was in love with them. I still own quite a few, and I still love them all. All her protagonists usually have this air of awkwardness, and for some reason (that has nothing to do with the fact that describing me as awkward is similar to describing water as wet) I connected with them. Her books will always hold a place in my heart.

Number four: Stieg Larsson

I have ranted and raved about his work a lot, and I will continue to do so now. His characters are so develop I expect them to leap off the page and into the real world; his plots are beautifully intricate and have all been pulled off magnificently; he added so much detail into every little aspect that it almost seems as it actually happened. If this man was still alive I would shake his hand (and ask him to sign all my books).

Number five: Charlotte Bronte

Here’s another bloody obvious one. I love Jane Eyre, and her not as well-known book The Professor, so I think she is definitely worthy of being added to my list and I don’t that requires much explanation.

Number six: Christopher Paolini

This man is a master of creating entire new worlds. He created new languages and cultures for The Inheritance Cycle, and the descriptions were just wow! I still can’t get over the fact that he wrote the first book when he was fifteen! FIFTEEN! How is that possible?!

Number seven: Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

What I find funny about this is that I love the entire idea of Sherlock Holmes, and I love how so much has been created with him in mind, and yet Doyle hated Sherlock in the end. The only reason he brought Sherlock back to life after Reichenbach was because he fans were in uproar. I do feel sorry for Doyle because he wasn’t really known for anything else other than Sherlock, but you can’t create a character like that and not have it become ridiculously popular.

Number eight: Anthony Horowitz

To me he is the king of YA action. I have always loved his characters, and his plots, and, as he got me into reading action, his books will always be special to me.

Number nine: Douglas Adams

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy is a book I have re-read numerous times. I used to carry it one me when I traveled, and I still laughed like it was the first time I read it. The humour within this book is hard to pinpoint as it can either be down to outrageous situations – for example the first and last thoughts of a sperm whale, that once was a missile, as it is heading towards the ground from miles above – or just a simple sentence: “The ships hung in the sky in much the same way that bricks don’t.” It also gave me something for my dad and I to bond over, and the number 42. Seriously, where did you think the ’42’ in my blog’s web address came from?

Number ten: Beatrix Potter

Out of everything it’s her characters which have stuck with me the most. Particularly Jemima Puddle-duck. Maybe that’s where my strange obsession with ducks came from?

Who are your favourite authors? Have you got a Top Ten Tuesday of your own? If so leave the link down below and I’ll check it out.

16 thoughts on “TOP TEN TUESDAY: My All Time Favourite Authors

      1. I didn’t know there was a new book coming? Is it another Girl With the Dragon Tattoo book? (If so, who wrote it?) Or did he write something else before he died? Loved that trilogy.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I also put Rowling down on my list 🙂 I have never heard of Jacqueline Wilson before! I’m putting her down on my TBR list. And I really need to read Sherlock Holmes…I’ve watched so many adaptions but never actually read any of the books!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jacqueline Wilson is very famous in the UK for her children’s books, but I still think adults can enjoy them too. As for Sherlock Holmes, I’ve read a few of the stories and they are each wonderful and definitely something I recommend 🙂

      Like

Let's chat!

