Top Ten Tuesday

TOP TEN TUESDAY: Books From My Childhood/Early Teen Years I Would Love To Revisit

Top ten tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish once a week, and this week’s list is the top ten books from my childhood and (early because I’m still a teenager) teen years I would love to revisit. This list will be in semi-chronological order, starting with the books from my early childhood going all the way to my early teen years.

Number one: The Very Hungry Caterpillar by Eric Carle

This is the first book I ever loved. I was too young to be able to read it myself, so I got my granddad to read it to me over and over until I knew it word for word. This is the book that started me off and I will always love it.

Number two: Yogi Bear by Hanna-Barbera

I found this book/graphic novel/comic at my grandparents house and they let me keep it. My mum grew up with it and I doubt they make them anymore, but I remember staring at the pictures, trying to make sense of the story. That isn’t the exact cover because I can’t find it.

Number three: Winnie the Pooh by A. A. Milne

Winnie the Pooh is my early childhood in a nutshell. Not only did it give me a love of reading, but also a love of animals and cuddly stuffed bears. I still do read the stories every now and then.

Number four: The Dolphin Diaries by Lucy Daniels

I went through a stage in my childhood where I loved dolphins, which isn’t the best of obsessions when you’re afraid of water. Anyway these books appealed to me greatly. Who doesn’t want to read about a twelve year old girl travelling the world with her parents and meeting dolphins?

Number five: The Rainbow Magic Books

 I was a typical girly girl when I was younger, with a love of Barbie and a fascination with princesses and magic. This was perfect for me. I remember making my mum take me to the library and taking six of the books out, and I read them all that night.

Number six: Cookie by Jacqueline Wilson

 I loved Jacqueline Wilson growing up, and this is definitely one of my favourite books which I’ve re-read loads of times because I found the main character so relatable. I wouldn’t be surprised if I re-read it again sometime soon.

Number seven: Kensuke’s Kingdom by Michael Morpurgo

I had to study this at school when I was about eleven and I loved this book. Even on stage this was book was beautiful and is one of the reasons my reading diversified as I grew older.

Number eight: Alex Rider series by Anthony Horowitz

I can’t remember liking more action packed books before this series, but I know that as soon as I read the first book I loved it. I still love the series now.

Number nine: The Night World series by L. J. Smith

I begin reading this series soon after discovering Twilight at eleven, and this followed me the beginning of my teen years. It was filled with action, mystery, the supernatural, and romance, which was my sort of thing back then. I would still read them again because they are filled with such fond memories.

Number ten: Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

This was the first classic I ever read, and I was ridiculously proud when I finished it due to how hard it was to read. I still re-read it now as it is such an amazing story.

Note: I deliberately haven’t mentioned Jane Eyre and Harry Potter because I don’t think I need to mention them again.

Let's chat!

