Other Bookish Things

Books I Own, But Haven’t Read: Part III

part iii

I don’t think I have fully gone over my main reason I’m making this series of posts, so here is my little explanation. I am making this series so you can look at my books and go, “Oh, you should read that book next because it’s really good.” I can’t guarantee that I’ll agree with you on that, but at least I have one book less on my growing TBR pile.

Book one: Inferno by Dan Brown


I have read the three previous books in the Robert Langdon series – Angels and Demons, The Da Vinci Code, The Lost Symbol – and I liked them all, so I got this and it has just sat on my shelf collecting dust. I also have to insert a little rant here because why the hell did they make The Da Vinci Code into a movie before Angels and Demons?! Not only is that chronologically incorrect but Angels and Demons is miles better than The Da Vinci Code!

Anwyay, here’s the blurb:

Florence: Harvard symbologist Robert Langdon awakes in a hospital bed with no recollection of where he is or how he got there. Nor can he explain the origin of the macabre object that is found hidden in his belongings.

A threat to his life will propel him and a young doctor, Sienna Brooks, into a breakneck chase across the city. Only Langdon’s knowledge of the hidden passageways and ancient secrets that lie behind its historic facade can save them from the clutches of their unknown pursuers.

With only a few lines from Dante’s Inferno to guide them, they must decipher a sequence of codes buried deep within some of the Renaissance’s most celebrated artworks to find the answers to a puzzle which may, or may not, help them save the world from a terrifying threat…

Book two: Nightfall by Stephen Leather


I actually got this from a book donation table at my local supermarket. If you don’t know what this is it’s a table (obviously) which has books people have donated and you donate however much money you want to donate and then you take whatever books you want. This book sounded interesting at the time, but now I’m not too sure. That doesn’t mean I won’t give it a go though.

Another blurb:

“You’re going to hell, Jack Nightingale.”

These are the words that ended Jack Nightingale’s career as a police negotiator. Now a struggling private detective, the chilling words return with a vengeance when Jack inherits a mansion with a priceless library—and a terrifying warning from a man who claims to be his father.

Nightingale quickly learns his soul was sold at birth and a devil will come to claim it on his thirty-third birthday, which is just three short weeks away. It’s a hard pill to swallow. He doesn’t believe in Hell and probably doesn’t believe in Heaven either. But when people close to him start to die horribly, he is led to the inescapable conclusion that real evil may be at work. And if he doesn’t find a way out, he’ll be damned for eternity.

Book three: One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest by Ken Kesey


I can’t remember why I got this, but I do know it sounds amazing and I have no clue why I have been putting off reading this.

Blurb:

Tyrannical Nurse Ratched rules her ward in an Oregon State mental hospital with a strict and unbending routine, unopposed by her patients, who remain cowed by mind-numbing medication and the threat of electroshock therapy. But her regime is disrupted by the arrival of McMurphy – the swaggering, fun-loving trickster with a devilish grin who resolves to oppose her rules on behalf of his fellow inmates. His struggle is seen through the eyes of Chief Bromden, a seemingly mute half-Indian patient who understands McMurphy’s heroic attempt to do battle with the powers that keep them imprisoned.

Book four: The Perks of being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky


I had been wanting to get this for ages, because I’m one of the few people who has never read it, and then my friend gave it to me as a leaving present (which made me very, very happy). Now it’s just sitting on my shelf and I still feel left out for not having read it. I also want to see the movie, but I can’t until I’ve read the book.

Last blurb:

Charlie is a freshman. And while he’s not the biggest geek in the school, he is by no means popular. Shy, introspective, intelligent beyond his years yet socially awkward, he is a wallflower, caught between trying to live his life and trying to run from it. Charlie is attempting to navigate his way through uncharted territory: the world of first dates and mixed tapes, family dramas and new friends; the world of sex, drugs, and The Rocky Horror Picture Show, when all one requires is that perfect song on that perfect drive to feel infinite. But Charlie can’t stay on the sideline forever. Standing on the fringes of life offers a unique perspective. But there comes a time to see what it looks like from the dance floor. The Perks of Being a Wallflower is a deeply affecting coming-of-age story that will spirit you back to those wild and poignant roller-coaster days known as growing up.

Don’t forget to leave any recommendations you may have because I need to know what to read next. Also if you have any other words for the word ‘blurb’ please let me know because I feel like I’m overusing it.

2 thoughts on “Books I Own, But Haven’t Read: Part III

Let's chat!

