Other Bookish Things · Random Rants

Recovery Time


I just finished reading the Hunger Games Trilogy. I have read the first book several times, but could never get myself to read the others. So I decided that I will marathon them. In the past five days I have been through all the emotional trauma that this trilogy thrusts upon its readers, and now I have a problem: what do I do now?

I can’t start another book because my head is still stuck in this broken, dystopian world. I can’t even read fanfiction or watch the movies because I feel as if I would be somehow betraying the characters. Right now I am going through what I like to call ‘recovery time’.

This happens after reading a book or a series which immerses you so much and so deeply into this new, strange world that leaving it is hard, and it takes more than closing a book to exit back into the real world. In this time I tend to continually contemplate things that happened in the book(s), and wonder what I would have preferred to be different. I usually try and start a new book, then fail miserably when I can’t connect to the characters, and then I just watch movies and YouTube videos for a while until I can read again. Unfortunately it usually takes days until I can read again.

So, that’s what I’m in now: recovery time. I won’t be reviewing the Hunger Games trilogy or Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo because my brain is too muddled by everything to write a coherent review. But don’t worry! I will review the next book I read, though I’m not entirely sure what it’s going to be yet.

Let's chat!

