Other Bookish Things

Books I Own, But Haven’t Read: Part I

TBR Part I

So this is something I will be doing more of because I have realised that I own a lot of books I haven’t ever read. I think that is probably due to my book buying addiction, but honestly I am also very picky when it comes to read to. I am currently reading the Goldfinch by Donna Tartt, which is rather a large book at 864 pages, and I am finally close to the end but I have suddenly lost interest in it. I don’t know why, but, because I don’t feel like reading it, I haven’t finished it yet, and I have been on the same page for about a week now.

Anyways here are three books I own but have not read…

Book one: The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame

Wind in the Willows

This is a classic which I am sure you have heard of, and I have owned it since I was ten as I received it as a birthday present. I never got round to reading it though, even when I set it as a challenge, I ended up reading some other book which interested me more.

For anyone interested, here is the blurb:

The Wild Wood seems a terrifying place to Mole, until he finds it’s full of friends – Kind, sleepy Badger; brave and lively Ratty; and the irresponsible Mr Toad, famous for his wealth and his car smashes. But there are also the sinister weasels and stoats, and they capture Toad Hall when Mr Toad is in jail. How will he escape? And can the friends fight together to save Toad Hall?

Book two: Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell

 cloudatlas

I have got to say that I know next to nothing about this book. I didn’t see the movie, and the only reason I bought it was because I was in an airport and they were selling it and it looked interesting. I don’t know if I will ever read this book as I think it switches between characters a lot, and I’m generally not a fan of that.

Again, here is the blurb:

Six interlocking lives – one amazing adventure. In a narrative that circles the globe and reaches from the 19th century to a post-apocalyptic future, Cloud Atlas erases the boundaries of time, genre and language to offer an enthralling vision of humanity’s will to power, and where it will lead us.

Book three: The Emperor’s Knife by Mazarkis Williams

EmperorsKnife_Press_Corrected02.indd

Here is another book I seem to have bought at an airport, and I got it because it looked interesting, if a little bit of what could be described as a ‘typical fantasy novel’. I do like books with a fantasy, adventure aspect, but I just never got around to reading this book.

Insert blurb here:

A plague is attacking the Cerani Empire: as the geometric patterns cover the skin, so the victims fall under the power of the Pattern Master.

Only three people stand in his way: a lost prince, a world-weary killer, and a young girl who once saw a path through the waving grass.

Book four: The Far Pavilions by M. M. Kaye

The_Far_Pavilions

This book is actually my dad’s which I have been intending to read for way too long. It is something he highly recommends, and since we have a similar taste in books I decided to give it a go someday. That day hasn’t arrived, but I swear it will some time.

Blurb bit:

The Far Pavilions is the story of an English man – Ashton Pelham-Martyn – brought up as a Hindu. It is the story of his passionate, but dangerous love for Juli, an Indian princess. It is the story of divided loyalties, of friendship that endures till death, of high adventure and of the clash between East and West.

To the burning plains and snow-capped mountains of this great, humming continent, M.M. Kaye brings her exceptional gifts of storytelling and meticulous historical accuracy, plus her insight into the human heart.

This is only part one so you will see more of these posts in the future. If you think I should read any of these, or have any recommendations please comment below because I would like to know where to start, and am always up for more books.

Let's chat!

