Haul

Holiday Book ‘Haul’

20140729-214027-78027308.jpg

So I am currently in France visiting my parents and a necessity that of course takes precedence over clothing is books. The only reason I’m calling this a haul is because I am hauling over to France and back. Believe me when I say this is the fewest books I have ever EVER brought on holiday with me in my life. Maybe it’s because a good two thirds of all the books I own are here, but mainly it’s because my parents told me they got me a present that will take up half my suitcase, and it turns out to be a giant duck money box which I have no room for in England. It’s a pitiful number of books, but oh well. Might as well tell you about it anyways.

The first of the four is Louder than Words by Laura Jarratt. I found this book at YALC whilst sitting on a bean bag waiting for my friend to hurry the hell up and I wanted it instantly, and then I got it FOR FREE! (You should know my love of free stuff by now). From what I have read of it sitting in the hairdressers with dye in my hair it seems good. You can tell it’s a traditional YA book from the lack of extreme detail added. But the idea of a girl with a phobia of communicating to others and a belief that the written word is more powerful than the spoke is an interesting one – especially since I’m one of those people who finds writing a lot easier than speaking. This will probably end up reviewed.

The second book I brought over was the Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy Trilogy of Four by Douglas Adams. I am going to admit something to you which I sincerely regret: I haven’t finished the series. But my dad has gone on and on about it so I know everything about it without having to read it. And I have heard the original radio show so give me a break! Anyways it’s a hilarious series and I cannot wait to read them all.

The third book, which I bought at the airport along with the last one (there was a deal going on OK!), was the Goldfinch by Donna Tartt. Now I have only read the first twenty pages of this book whilst waiting for my delayed flight (happy days…) and OH MY CHUCK! The beginning was one of the most enthralling and captivating starts to a book I have ever witnessed! You have so many questions about everything in the book that your thoughts are left near incoherent. You just can’t! Once I finish this book there will definitely be a review. Definitely.

The fourth and final book I got for half price was the Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling. Now I have heard so much good press about this book, and as it was written by one of my all time favourite authors I new I had to read it. I haven’t read any of it yet but I know it will be filled with interesting themes and deeply hidden metaphors (did you know that the dementors in Harry Potter were a metaphor for J.K. Rowling’s depression?) which will all make the book brilliant.

Once I have read these I’ll try and do reviews on all of them, but I already have a plan to review several books so these might be a while in the making.

Let's chat!

