Creation (a.k.a. Writing)

Research (Hell!)

One of my least favourite words in my vocabulary is research. There’s just something so vague and ominous about it that it makes me cringe. That and it means hard work, and I’ve got to admit that I am a lazy little poop who shuns work like Dracula does light. What I am currently writing requires a lot of research to make it work as it is set about fifty years in the future and is based around genetic sciences. I am not going to tell you what it is about until I have completed the planning for it, but the research for it requires a lot of time on the internet (by that I mean more than usual).

What keeps me going is thinking about authors such as John Green and Dan Brown who had to do so much research to make their books plausible, and then their books became best sellers with great movies based on their work. I doubt what I am writing will ever get published, but in the long run that doesn’t matter as much to me. I just want what I am writing to eventually be enjoyed by others. And, for that to be done, I must carry on with the mountain of research that needs to be done. Yay.

If you have any tips or tricks to researching for writing then please share. I sort of need all the help I can get…

Let's chat!

